Home / POLITICS / Govt to resume work on major cocoa roads – Ken Ofori-Atta

Govt to resume work on major cocoa roads – Ken Ofori-Atta

By:brightwebtv.com /nana asare barimah



The government has resumed work on cocoa roads, Ken Ofori-Atta, the Finance Minister has announced.

The resumption includes upgrading, routine and periodic maintenance activities of 1,362 km of trunk roads, 1,389 km of feeder roads, and 183 km of urban roads.

The Finance Minister, in the Mid-year Budget Review in Parliament, said the government is seeking to ensure rapid expansion of infrastructure in an integrated manner to transform the economic and social lives of Ghanaians.

He said government will not lose sight of the fact that the cocoa industry directly supports about 800,000 families and such a major policy will improve significantly the living standards of majority of Ghanaians.


The roads include:

• Obuasi Jn – Dunkwa – Ayanfuri Road;

• Have – Hohoe Road;

• Hohoe-Jasikan Road;

• Benchema Junction (Barrier)-Adwofua Road;

• Sefwi Wiawso-Akontombra Road; and

• Cape Coast-Twifo Praso Road and Access Road to Kakum National Park.

He added that 450 feeder roads and 20 trunk roads covering 4,500 km and 500 km respectively have been programmed by COCOBOD and the Ministry of Roads and Highways for construction, upgrading, rehabilitation and routine maintenance activities.

They also include:

• Odumase-Kwatire-Bada (15.00km)

• Bayerebon No.3 – Nyame Bekyere (25.60km)

• Nkranfo Nkwanta – Agrave (56.00km)

• Akim Manso – Osenase (18.10km)

• Kwahu Nsaba – Akoase (29.50km)

• Chiraa – Akroasua – Adrobaa (17.50km)

• Akrodie – Asumura (13.70km)

• Assin Fosu – Twifo Praso (8.00km)

• Brofoyedru – Akenkasu (15.00km)

• Sankore-Cocoa Station (12.00km)

• Dapaa – Dapaa Bunkusie (15.00km)

• Asato – Apesukubi (20.00km)

• Tokokoe – Shia (18.00km)

• Akrokrowa – Asukawkaw (20.00km)

• Bayerebon No. 3 – Nyame Bekyere (25.60km)

• Konogo – Nsiakrom (24.00km)

• Ankaase – Kensre – Pampaso – Homase (25.00km)

• Menang Nkwanta – Subin Camp (15.00km)

• Bepoh – Dawurampong – Dunkwa (30.00km)

• Adeisu-Wantram-Jukwa (17.00km)

• Asawinso – Merewa – Nkronna (21.00km)

• Gwira Ahomkakrom – Qwira Tabakrom (30.00km)

• Ateiku – Appiasuman – Bonsaho (15.00km)

• Odoben – Nanakese – Ansaikwaa – Tweredua (18.00km)

Source: Adomonline.com |



About admin

Check Also

Prof. Frimpong Boateng needs to be commended – friends of Atta Mills

By:brightwebtv.com /nana asare barimah     A group named friends of Atta Mills and Prof. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *